A Drop in the Bucket.

So you’re probably wondering what I might be writing about…or maybe not, but here goes! Many of today’s pundits are talking about the serious problems in the classical music industry – a reflection of our difficult economic times as well as it’s (classical music’s) very own endemic problems. Our aging audiences, the gutting of music education in our schools, our lack of programming imagination, our elitism, our superciliousness in a world gone internet and cell phone crazy. I could go on…and on…and on. So, don’t get me wrong, I know and am very concerned about these problems and about their broader implications for the society as a whole (which I may write about in subsequent posts). But what I would like to bring front and center as I begin this blog is, what are the solutions? How can we stop the endless discussion about what is wrong, the self defeating conversations that I read about often in the press? It’s been said that what we think in our mind is the result that we get, so if we are so sure that classical music is a dying art form, then perhaps that will be the result. So… this blog will be my small attempt to change some thinking and offer some alternative points of view and some creative and original solutions. To add a new trickle to the river of words out there about classical music, the arts and arts education.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Drop in the Bucket.

  1. alexis booher says:

    Hi Barbara,

    Wow. What a coincidence that you started this blog. First of all, I want to spend some time with you and Keith in Ohio. I will be there with Presidio and will look forward to your showcase.
    I have just spent a week in Indianapolis. There was a room set aside for two evenings of classical music. For the most part, the showcases were empty. I stayed in one so that a young pianist would have an audience of three – two of us were agents and I managed to get one presenter who does not present classical music. I was part of a speed lead for classical music. There were 12 tables set up – artist managers go from one table to another pitching their artists – like speed dating, I guess. Only 8 presenters showed up and of those I spoke to only one presented a little bit of classical on his season because he had a little bit of following. When questioned, the presenters generally said that classical in their venues is a hard sell, that audiences won’t show up. One guy said when ticket sales were lagging on one classical performance he got to working the phones. 14 people were in the audience that night. Now I am at my son’s house with my daughter in law. Her clarinet professor is performing with a symphony somewheren in the US tomorrow night and he sent her an e-mail that it is a sold out performance. That is at odds with what I experienced this week. There were extremely few presenters listening to classical performers and most of the venues are not offering classical programming. Will be interesting to watch your blog develop. Hope you find solutions because I think classical is going into hybernation.

Leave a Reply

